Can You Fight on Your Knees? by Rudell Capron

Rudell Capron is an impressive friend; even more an influential follower of Jesus with a contagious love for Him. We have Rudell to share with us again.

While traveling for a competitive sporting event with my team a few years back, the flight was closed before we had a chance to check in because I was late getting to the airport; which resulted in a one hundred-dollar per person penalty along with some very long faces!

Because I was responsible, I was very ashamed and felt completely worthless, so I did the only thing I could think of – I prayed. I told God that it was my fault, and that the airline Supervisor was not only unsympathetic, but stated rather frankly that it would be impossible and the only alternative would be to pay the penalties and go on the later flight.

While pooling what little money we all had, the airline attendant got word that the very flight that we should have been on was grounded due to mechanical issues, and though it ended up being perfectly fine, it was delayed JUST long enough for me and my team to board the flight – without penalty!

Sounds like a complete fictitious story from some weird book right? Well, not only is it true, but it also reminds me of another true account in 2 Kings 19 when Sennacherib, the Assyrian king sent a threatening letter to Hezekiah, the king of Judah. Blaspheming the name of the Lord, Sennacherib mocked Hezekiah and told him that any deliverance from the impending destruction was literally impossible, so Hezekiah did the only thing he could – prayed to God!

Hezekiah spread the letter before the Lord and received the victory. He nor his army had to fight, for the Angel of the Lord went into the enemy camp and totally annihilated the Assyrian army. How cool it is not to have to raise a hand against our enemies, but to understand that waging a war on our knees in prayer can bring the victory, because the Lord will fight the battle!!